top of page

Interview with DJ/Producer, LUZCID


I recently had the chance to sit down with New Paltz local and rising star DJ and producer Luzcid. In the past year alone he has had releases on Uplink Records, Otodayo Records, and most recently Bassnectar's Amorphous Music label. His collaborative track with Bassnectar "Science Fiction" has garnered critical acclaim from consumers and fellow producers alike, and with his recent step into the festival circut I wanted to take the chance to sit down with him and find out his take on the EDM and festival industry first hand.

When and how did you get into the “EDM” scene?

I got into the scene in I think it was 2009. One of my friend introduced me to artists such as rusko / benga / mala, the classic stuff. I was instantly hooked. I had previously listened to a lot of metal / hip hop and it has been nice to see those elements of music take on a new form within the edm scene.

What was your first take on it?

I really loved how open and friendly everyone was. It was like a fantasy world. I had never experienced music in such an immersive setting, and been able to share it with others.

How has it shaped you as an artist?

I think the large amount of shows I have been to helps me connect with a broad spectrum of music/edm lovers. I have grown to appreciate several genres and given each my own twist though original productions. It helps me create something new while knowing how to maintain their interest.

Do you think it’s important to be a part of "EDM" culture before becoming an artist or promoting shows/festivals?

I think so yes. You need to understand the needs of your audience if you plan to successfully create a positive experience for thousands of very different people. You have to understand their needs and prepare for the unexpected, and that only comes with experience.

What was your first festival?

My first festival was Harvest Festival in Upstate, NY

What has been your favorite festival experience?

There are several favorites im not sure if I can pick a number 1. Electric forest is a very special place I have several good memories there. Same with Red Rocks.

Do you notice a difference between festivals such as Electric Forest and Mysteryland?

Yes. Every festival has its own feel. This feel can change over time. I think this is a positive thing because so many different people attend festival and different style will appeal to different crowds, but there are definitely some that are more special than others.

For example?

Like you said, Electric Forest and Red Rocks

What made it so different from other festivals?

They seemed to care more about the festival. Insomniac’s attention to detail shows, and Red Rocks is incredible to look at

In your opinion, what is the most important factor for a successful event/festival?

Safety is always number one. Other than that the general organization is huge as well. I have had some of the best line ups be the worst experiences because of horrible planning and disaster on the organizers part. I won’t call them out though.

You can find all Luzcid's music on Soundcloud here.

You can follow Luzcid on Facebook here.

 THE ARTIFACT MANIFAST: 

 

This is a great space to write long text about your company and your services. You can use this space to go into a little more detail about your company. Talk about your team and what services you provide. Tell your visitors the story of how you came up with the idea for your business and what makes you different from your competitors. Make your company stand out and show your visitors who you are. Tip: Add your own image by double clicking the image and clicking Change Image.

 UPCOMING EVENTS: 

 

10/31/23:  Scandinavian Art Show

 

11/6/23:  Video Art Around The World

 

11/29/23:  Lecture: History of Art

 

12/1/23:  Installations 2023 Indie Film Festival

 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page